There are craft fairs everywhere!

Another hard week of work in the “real world.”  My AutoCAD wrist is feeling it and so are you, lack of posts.  It’s craft fair/festival season here in Dallas.  We like to have them all before summer makes it impossible to be outside without laying by the pool with a drink in your hand.  My favorite so far and by far has been the Urban Street Bazaar in the Bishop Arts District that occurred on April 10th and 11th.  In addition the setting (I looove the Bishop Arts District.) the festival had a large array of amazing artists.  I wanted to buy something from every single booth.  

One of my favorites was Craft Chi out of Austin, Texas.  She screen prints her original artwork on 100% organic cotton and natural linen to produce beautiful pillows, pouches, and T-shirts.  

She also makes the cutest rubber stamps from her drawings.   I suggest you go to her Etsy shop right now and look around.  Check out her blog too.  

Another favorite was Maneki.  Maneki is also from Austin (man that’s a great city).  

photo via http://www.manekicollection.com

She takes vintage pieces and combines them with new items to create beautiful modern jewelry.  There is a wonderful array of earings and bracelets but what I really love is the stunning collection of lockets.  I love the romanticism that comes with a locket, like I’m carrying a secret around with me all the time.  I want one!  She sells her collection online at her website

A purchase I did end up making is a few candles from Mountain Mama’s Kitchen Co.    Mountain Mama’s produces 100% soy candles.  Soy candles burn cleaner and last longer than other alternatives and Mountain Mama’s has a candle for everyone.  Plus, they come in a can and I know you like things that come in their own containers.  Personally, I like my candles to smell like cake.  They make everyone think you just slaved away in the kitchen every time you light one.  

photos via http://www.mountainmamaskitchen.com

Another favorite was Police Man.  It smells just like men’s cologne, very spicy and manly.  What I think a police man really would smell like.  If I ever get a chance to smell a police man, I’ll let you know.  Please do the same.  

There is at least one more big craft fair coming up that I’m very excited about.  The Etsy Spring Bash is next Saturday!!  I’ve been waiting for this ever since I found out I missed the last one.  You should come over and we’ll go together.
Leave a Reply

