A Girl, A Robot, and A Dream…

This…

web_robot

…is Lily June Strawberry Girl.  A remnant from my time in architecture school.  One of my first assignments was to create a life size representation of myself out of found objects.  Read: make a robot out of trash.  Of course, she’s not actually a robot.  She doesn’t move, or talk, or do anything really since she ended up in the trash the summer after my first year of college.  But this is a photo of her in her glory days, the two week time period when she graced the grand stair case at DAAP at the University of Cincinnati. 

The name Lily June Strawberry Girl came from a few friends of mine.  We all sat around spouting off random words and somehow it just seemed to fit.  Somewhere along the line Lily June Strawberry Girl has come to mean something else, not just a robot out of trash, but the desire for me to do all the things I say I’m going to do.  Number 1 on the list, start a blog.  I have it in my head that I’m quite funny.  Surly the world can somehow benefit from all the witty comments in my head.  Number 2, make things and sell them.  I’ve always wanted to do this and now, in this economic downturn, I find myself without an actual job.  It’s the perfect time.  So what I hope to do here is to catalog the journey of Lily June Strawberry Girl: a girl, a robot, and a dream.

One thought on “A Girl, A Robot, and A Dream…

Leave a Reply

